Sarkari Test, Result, and Exam 2023-2024 : A Comprehensive Guide


In the vast array of India’s competitive examination scene, government exams hold a significant place. These examinations serve as Doorways to various government jobs, offering Candidates the opportunity to contribute to nation-building while securing stable and rewarding careers. In this blog, we will explore all the government exams, providing you with all the Necessary information that you need to know about the latest updates, eligibility criteria, exam patterns, and preparation strategies for 2023-24 exams. 

Government exams are conducted by various Government institutions and agencies to recruit candidates for a wide range of positions across different sectors. These exams are highly competitive, attracting millions of people every year

Some of the popular Sarkari or government exams that are conducted regularly by various government organisations in India include:

UPSC Civil Services Examination:  The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) organises this test in order to hire candidates for a variety of civil services positions, including IAS, IPS, IFS, and others.

SSC Combined Graduate Level (CGL) Examination: This test is conducted by the Staff Selection Commission (SSC) in order to fill a variety of Group B and Group C positions in Indian government ministries, departments, and organizations. 

Bank Probationary Officer (PO) Exams: For the purpose of hiring probationary officers, a number of banks, including the State Bank of India (SBI), the Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS), and others, conduct PO exams.

Exam for RBI Grade B Officers: The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) administers this exam to candidates intending to become Grade B officers.

Exams administered by State Public Service Commissions: Every state has a Public Service Commission that administers tests for the State Civil Services, State Police Services, and other programs.

RRB Exams: For a range of technical and non-technical positions in the Indian Railways.

Teacher Eligibility Tests (TET): Conducted by state governments for recruitment of teachers in state schools.

There are various types of Government tests, including:

Written test: This is the most common type of government test. It is a multiple-choice question (MCQ) based test that is designed to test the knowledge of the applicant in a particular subject or field.

Practical test: This type of test is conducted to assess the practical skills of the candidates. It is usually conducted for jobs that require technical skills, such as engineering, nursing, and teaching.

Interview: An interview is a face-to-face conversation between the candidate and the recruiter. It is usually conducted to assess the personality, communication skills, and suitability of the candidate for the job.

Physical test: This type of test is conducted for jobs that require physical fitness, such as police constable, army, and navy.

Eligibility Criteria:

The eligibility criteria for sarkari exams vary depending on the specific exam. However, some common eligibilities are as follow:

  1. Educational Qualifications: Most government exams require candidates to possess a bachelor’s degree or its equivalent from a recognized university. Some exams may have specific requirements related to the field of study or percentage of marks.
  2. Age Limit: There are usually upper and lower age limits for candidates applying for sarkari exams. It’s typically from 18 to 35 years.
  3. Nationality: Candidates must be Indian citizens or meet specific nationality requirements.

Application Process:

Online Application: Most government exams have an online application process where candidates need to visit the official website of the exam conducting authority. They need to register themselves, fill out the application form with accurate details, upload required documents like photograph, signature, etc., and pay the application fee.

Application Fee: The fee amount varies for different categories (General, SC/ST, OBC, etc.) you will get to know the exact fee after going through the process of registering yourself in the portal.

Admit Card: After successful submission of the application, candidates can download the admit card from the official website within the specified time.

Exam Pattern and Syllabus: Candidates should also be familiar with the exam pattern, syllabus, and marking strategies for the particular exam they are applying for.

Exam Patterns:

Sarkari exams consist of multiple stages, including a preliminary exam, a main exam, and an interview or personality test.

Some common elements include:

  1. Preliminary Exam: This is the first stage of most sarkari exams and is designed to test the candidates for the main exam. It usually consists of objective-type questions covering general knowledge, reasoning, and numerical ability.
  2. Main Exam: The main exam is more comprehensive and consists of both objective and subjective-type questions. It tests candidates’ knowledge of the specific subjects relevant to the post they are applying for.
  3. Interview/Personality Test: The final stage of many sarkari exams is an interview or personality test. This is a stage where recruiters assess the candidates’ communication skills, personality traits, and suitability for the position.

Preparation Strategies:

Preparing for Government exams requires dedication, hard work, and a strategic approach. Here are some tips for your preparation:

  1. Understand the Exam Pattern: Familiarise yourself with the exam pattern, syllabus, and marking scheme for the specific exam you are targeting.
  2. Create a Study Plan: Develop a study plan that covers all the subjects and topics included in the exam. Give a sufficient time for each subject and topic.
  3. Study Material: Use latest study materials, textbooks, and previous years’ question papers to enhance your preparation for the best.
  4. Practice Regularly: Regular practice is crucial for success in Government exams. Solve mock tests and practice papers to improve your speed, accuracy, and time management skills or to access how much time you are taking to solve these questions. 
  5. Stay Updated: Keep yourself updated with current affairs, government policies, and important events both nationally and internationally.

Upcoming Sarkari Exams in 2024-25

Several government exams are scheduled to be conducted in 2024-25. Some of the most important exams include:


The Staff Selection Commission (SSC) will conduct the Combined Graduate Level (CGL) Exam in 2024-25. The exam is scheduled to be conducted from May 2024 to June 2024.


The Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS) will conduct the Probationary Officer (PO) Exam in 2024-25. The exam is scheduled to be conducted in October 2024.

UPSC Civil Services Exam

 The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) will conduct the Civil Services Exam in 2024-25. The exam is scheduled to be conducted in June 2024.


 The Railway Recruitment Board (RRB) will conduct the Non-Technical Popular Categories (NTPC) Exam in 2024-25. The exam is scheduled to be conducted from April 2024 to May 2024.

Important Note:

Keep a check on the official website of the respective exam conducting authority for any updates, notifications, or changes in eligibility criteria or the application process.

Maintain the necessary documents (educational certificates, identification proof, etc.) ready before starting the application process.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top